USA Rules III

SECTION IV. In Play vs. Out of Play

1. The legal bounds of play are the table’s playing surface, the walls of the rails, the front faces of the goals, the interiors of the goals, and the player’s mallets. If the puck touches any other object(s) while it is in play, whether by interference or by foul (unless the foul is nullified) it is considered out of bounds and therefore instantly out of play.

2. A puck, which grazes the top of the rail, is out of play even if it returns to the table surface. If the puck bounces off a shield and returns to the table, the puck is out of play.

3. When the puck is in play, the referee should only grant a time-out if the player calling time-out demonstrates control of the puck. A puck breaking the vertical plane of the goal face can never be considered controlled. A player must never assume that the referee has granted a time-out and should therefore stay at the ready until the referee officially calls time-out.

4. A player calling an additional time-out after his first receives an automatic conduct warning from the referee. The referee should announce ” time-out,” issue the warning by announcing, “conduct warning – extra time-out,” and immediately call ” time-in.” If the non-offending player was not in possession of the puck, the referee should ask that player if he/she is ready before announcing “time-in.” A referee may suspend this penalty if the offending player attempts to call an extra time-out because of injury.

5. If interference occurs during a shot which scores and interference is called by referee, the point does not count. Interference is defined as foreign objects on the table or playing surface, obvious unnecessary noise or distractions or actions by spectators that cause distractions to any or all players, and/or any other incident so deemed by referee. The puck returns to the player who possessed it prior to the interference.

6. When the puck leaves the playing surface and contacts anything except a player’s mallet, play is suspended until the puck is put back into play by the referee. True, even if it touches top of flat rail surface.

SECTION V. Scoring

1. If the puck stops in the goal yet has tilted and broken the horizontal plane of the goal then a score has occurred. If a puck stops in the goal and does not tilt, thereby not breaking the horizontal plane, then the player may either hand the puck to the other player or try to work the puck out of the goal using legal play methods.

2. If the puck rebounds out of the goal mouth, the point does not count. A puck which rebounds out of the goal mouth and strikes the defending player’s hand, and rebounds back into the goal does count.

3. If a puck hits a player’s hand on its way into the goal, the point counts as long as the puck would have scored without the contact.

4. If a score occurs after the table loses power, the point will count only if the puck was struck prior to the table losing power.

5. If a player takes a shot and drops his mallet and the puck enters his/her own goal for a score without it being deflected by the defensive player, the point counts. The player is permitted to stop the puck with hands or body. No point would be scored if the puck enters the opponent’s goal due to the distraction. If a player shoots and the defense loses the mallet, the defense may not use hands or body to stop the shot if the shot occurred prior to or simultaneously with the losing of the mallet. The point counts if it scores.

6. If a player commits a foul and is scored upon in the course of the same play the goal counts and the penalty is nullified.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *